Three BMW M4 DTMs finish the first Qualifying at the Lausitzring in the top-ten

Added in: BMW


Marco Wittmann (DE), Maxime Martin (BE) and Tom Blomqvist (GB) finished qualifying for the third DTM race of the season at the Lausitzring (DE) with their BMW M4 DTM cars in the top-ten.

Reigning DTM champion Wittmann drove a personal best lap around the 3.478 kilometre circuit in a time of 1:17.635 minutes in his Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM. With his time, he had a gap of 0.197 seconds of a second to pole-setter Miguel Molina (ES / Audi). Martin was eighth in his SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM, directly followed by Blomqvist.

António Félix da Costa (PT), Bruno Spengler (CA), Martin Tomczyk (DE), Timo Glock (DE) and Augusto Farfus (BR) finished 12th, 15th, 17th, 18th and 19th respectively.

With the results for Wittmann and Martin, both drivers from BMW Team RMG finished in the top-ten. Both Wittmann and Martin went off track briefly during qualifying. Blomqvist was the fastest BMW driver in both free practice sessions. In Friday’s first practice, the DTM rookie even set the fastest time overall. The third of this year’s 18 DTM races begins at 18:05hrs local time.

“Considering the fact that the Lausitzring isn’t necessarily a circuit that suits us and that we were quite a way behind in the practice sessions, this result is quite okay. However, we always want to be at the very top – and not in sixth. Now we have to wait and see what is still possible during the race. Hopefully we will be able to gain some ground. Our performance on the second set of tyres wasn’t quite as good as during our first outing. That’s why I don’t think my little off has cost us any places.” – Marco Wittmann (BMW Team RMG, 6th)

Marco Wittmann (DE) Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM

 BMW Motorsport results*:

No 1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM

1:17.635 minutes – 6th place

No 36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM

1:17.729 minutes – 8th place

No 31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM

1:17.800 minutes – 9th place

No 13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM

1:17.956 minutes – 12th place

No 7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM

1:18.014 minutes – 15th place

No 77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM

1:18.078 minutes – 17th place


1:18,115 minutes – 18th place

No 18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM

1:18.132 minutes – 19th place

*The official starting grid may differ from the provisional qualifying results published here.

Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *