Team MRF's Katsuhiko Taguchi takes APRC 2010 drivers' title

Added in: News


Katsuhiko Taguchi (R) has taken the APRC 2010 drivers' title

Indian Team MRF’s Katsuhiko Taguchi won the FIA APRC 2010 driver’s title with 100 points after six rounds of 2010 season after the end of the China Rally in Longyou. Team-mate Gaurav Gill finished second with 97 points. Glenn Macneall of Team MRF clinched the overall FIA APRC 2010 co-driver’s title. Macneall is Gill’s co-driver.Taguchi’s co-driver Chris Murphy had missed a round earlier in the season and thereby lost a chance to clinch the co-driver’s title. Both drivers will be honoured at the FIA Prize Distribution Ceremony in Monaco on Friday, December 10,2010 alomg with other FIA Championship winners like Formula 1 Championship.

Katsuhiko Taguchi is APRC 2010 Drviers' ChampionKatsuhiko Taguchi is APRC 2010 Drviers' Champion

On Saturday, Taguchi crashed out in Special Stage 2. Gill followed suit in Special Stage 6. The reason for the crashes was a mix of dirt and tarmac terrain,which has been permitted by FIA from this year.In China however,the roads were concrete and not tarmac.Concrete surface is very slippery and dangerous for high speed rallying.MRF management  decided that neither driver would take part in the second leg on Sunday,November 7,2010.


Click on the image for a larger version

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *