National Drag Racing Championship will be held in August

Added in: Motorsport

Drag racing fans and enthusiasts who live a quarter mile at a time have something to look forward to this month. The first two rounds of the FMSCI-Indian National Drag Racing Championship and Drag meets for four-wheelers and two-wheelers will be held at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore between Aug 28th and 31st.

The action doesn’t stop just here as the entire month of August will witness a lot of fast paced racing events.

1)The month will kick off with Round 3 of the MMSC-FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship for Group C and Group D categories at the Madras Motor Race Track on Aug 2 and 3 ,with the MMSC One-Make Championships of Honda, TVS and Yamaha to be held concurrently.
International rider Rajini Krishnan of Moto-Rev won the second race of the competitive Group C Open 165cc category in Round 2 last month, edging out former Moto 3 rider Sarath Kumar of B Strong Ten10 Racing in a close, tight race while Race 1 winner K Jagan of TVS Racing came third.
Meanwhile, R Harikrishnan of Sparks Racing completed a double in the Group D (Novice) 165cc class apart from bagging Race 2 in the Group D 130cc category.

Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2013

2) The Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare (2/4 W), an FMSCI approved event, is being organised by Bangalore-based Motorsport Inc. between Aug 3 and 9.

Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare 1

3)The third round of the 3rd FMSCI-Indian National TSD Rally Championship will be held in Bengaluru on Aug 16 and 17. The husband-wife combination of Satish Gopalakrishnan and navigator Savera D’Souza won the Overall and Expert classes in the first two rounds in Chikmagalur and Jaipur in June, and the former National champions will look to extend their winning streak at home. Meanwhile, Chidanand Murthy and navigator BS Sujith Kumar (of Team Tata Motors), also from Bengaluru, put their bid for a third straight National title in the Stock class on track with a victory in Jaipur.

4)The action then shifts to Chennai for the super double at the Madras Motor Race Track. Young Tarun Reddy is leading the championship table in the premier MRF FF1600 single-seater, while Bala Vijay will look to extend his winning streak in the Superstock category. Arjun Narendran, Feroze Khan and S Narendran are leading the championship table in the Indian Touring Cars, Indian Junior Touring Cars and Formula LGB 1300 categories respectively.

Vikash Anand leads in MRF FF1600

Meanwhile, the National Supercross championship moves south after the first two rounds were held in Nashik and Pune in May. TVS Racing’s KP Aravind is leading the overall standings in the exciting SX1 category after a captivating performance in Moto 2 in Pune.gulf-supercross-nashik-image-2

Other FMSCI-approved events during the month are:
Aug 16-17: Green Run Picnic Rally (2/4 W) in Bangalore; Aug 30-31: Solo Challenge (RallySprint) Round 1 (4 W) in Chandigarh.

Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *