Indian National Motorcycle Championship Finale this weekend

Added in: News


The 5th and Final Round of the 2012 MMSC – Sidvin FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship will take place at the MMRT in Chennai this weekend with plenty of silverware still to be won. The Championship will see leading motorcycle manufacturers Honda, Yamaha & TVS participating this weekend with over 20 races on display.

Many of the championship categories conducted by Madras Motor Sports Club are very close with any of the top 3 riders in all these classes in with a chance to win the title this year.

In the Group D unmodified class upto 130cc bikes Kamlesh Thakur from Jalgaon of Team Sparks Racing clinched the title in the last round but the fight for the runner up spots is still up for grabs. The Team Championship will also go down to the wire with Sparks Racing and TVS on 94 and 91 points respectively.

In the Group D unmodified class upto 165cc Ramesh Kumar of Team MotoRev, leads his nearest rival Sandesh P from Bengaluru of Performance Racing by 7 points with Arun Muthukrishnan close behind.

In Group C upto 165cc, MotoRev’s Shyam Shankar needs to just bag a points finish to win the championship while 2nd & 3rd are being closely fought by Sumit Lucas Toppo and Dinesh Kumar.
In Group B fully modified bikes upto 165cc, K. Jagan from Chennai of TVS Racing, was crowned Champion last time around with his team mate Harry Sylvester in 2nd place followed by Shyam.

The Honda MMSC One Make Championship CBF Stunner class and the CBR 150CC class will be decided this week with more than 3 riders in with a shot at the title. Meanwhile, in the premier category of this year the CBR 250CC class, Team MotoRev will have its 3 riders battle it out for honours with A. Prabhu, M. Gautham and Dinesh Kumar all in the hunt for the title.

While Shyam Shankar of Chennai has already clinched the Yamaha MMSC One Make Championship YZF R15 Open category, in the Novice category for the YZF R15, Sandesh P from Bangaluru is tied on points with R Ramesh Kumar from Chennai going into the final round.
In the TVS MMSC One Make Championship novice category for the Apache RTR180cc, 10 points separate the Top 3 of Abdul Wahab, MD Intekhab Alam and Rahul G Rathod. In the Apache RTR180CC open category P Ananth looks the favourite as he leads Rajesh Rathinakumar by 9 points.

Entry is free to watch the all exciting finale at the Madras Motor Race Track at Irungatukottai. For more information visit


Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *