2016 SUPRA SAEINDIA flagged off at Buddh International Circuit

Added in: News

2016 SUPRA SAEINDIA flagged off at Buddh International Circuit (2)

The 2016 SUPRA SAEINDIA was kicked off at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida. 2016 marks the 5th edition of the competition. Organized annually by SAEINDIA, the event provides a platform for students to apply their engineering skills to design and construct a Formula category vehicle as per defined performance and safety specifications.

SUPRA SAEINDIA 2016 will be spread over five days, concluding with a final endurance test and a valedictory function on July 9, 2016. Indian Formula 1 driver Narain Karthikeyan will visit SUPRA 2016 on July 8, 2016 to interact with the student community and encourage them.

Year 2016 also marks the debut of two special award categories to increase the number of women participants in the event. While the first recognizes the best woman participant, the second rewards the team with the maximum number of women participants. Around 200 women will be participating in SUPRA this year and there will be an all women’s team joining the event.

The competition provides an opportunity for teams to create a virtual design, build a prototype and test their own formula type race car during the course of a year. The challenge for the participating engineering students is to constantly innovate and bring about changes for reduction in weight, fuel economy and increased efficiency in transmission. Students are guided and mentored by industry professionals and faculty advisers who are imparted training and guidance by technical experts of SAEINDIA.

The event will be judged by a panel comprising 200 eminent experts from the automotive industry, including four international experts – Benjamin Moeller, Christian Thomas Amersbach, Christoph Martin Beisswanger from Germany and Anastasia Potrashkova from Russia.

Maruti Suzuki India Limited is the title sponsor of SUPRA India 2016, continuing to support the event for the fifth consecutive year. Other sponsors include:

  • BPCL
  • Castrol
  • Shell
  • AVL
  • Siemens
  • Altair
  • Ansys
  • MRF
  • CEAT
  • GKN
  • Hindustan University
  • Tripti Hospitality
  • Continental
  • Viper Hobbies
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *