19th Maruti Suzuki Raid De Himalaya Kicked Off From Manali

Added in: Motorsport

Maruti Suzuki India flagged off the 19th edition of Maruti Suzuki Raid De Himalaya from Manali. Over 170 motorsport enthusiasts in 110 teams are participating in this rally which will culminate at Leh for the prize distribution ceremony on October 14. The rally will be taking place at an high altitude of 17,500 feet with temperatures as low as -15°C and will traverse through the terrains of Kaza, Sarchu, Pang, Leh, Kargil and Pensi La.


Winning last year’s top title, Team Maruti Suzuki Motorsport’s Suresh Rana co driven by PVS Murthy with look to defend titles in their Grand Vitara. Sandeep Sharma and Karan Arya in their S. Cross, Hari Krishnan and Dinesh Dhankar in their Ignis, Dhram Pal Jangra and Thinless Namgail in Vitara Brezza and Samrat Yadav and S.N. Nizami driving Gypsy.


Cutting it close will be six women teams as well as eight Army teams, which would be taking part across categories this year. The rally is divided into three categories – X-treme Cars, X-treme Bikes and Adventure; and will cover about 1,850 kms over a span of seven days.

With safety given the utmost priority, all the participants undergo a strict scrutiny check one day prior the flag-off.


Speaking on the occasion, Sanjeev Handa, Vice President, Marketing said that keeping up with the Company’s commitment of providing adrenaline rush and thrusting challenges, Maruti Suzuki India is pleased to flag-off yet another exciting journey amidst huge fanfare. From a small rally that began in 1999 with just 19 teams, it has been a long journey since then and has seen over 110 teams and over 170 participants go head to head for the most coveted title in Indian rallying history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *