Karthik Tharani Singh reigns supreme in the MRF FF1600 Championship held at MMRT

Added in: Motorsport

MRF 1600 (1)

Karthik Tharani Singh dominated proceedings at Round 2 of the MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship in the MRF FF1600 Championship. Karthik lead in both practice sessions, qualified on pole position, won both races and also set the fastest lap. Karthik was fastest in all the practice sessions before qualifying on pole position with a lap of 1:41.886 and became the only driver to dip into the 41s all weekend.

In Race 1, Karthik was in the lead post the very first corner, behind him Narendran held off Parekh and Trivellore to keep 2nd place. Karthik pulled away from the pack as Narendran and Parekh got into a fierce battle. A mistake by Narendran helped Parekh get a run on him and pass him on the straight heading into Anands corner. Karthik took the chequered flag comfortably to win his first race of the season and also ensure that there are 3 different winners from the first 3 races. Parekh finished in 2nd place with Narendran in 3rd and Trivellore in 4th place.


In Race 2, Trivellore started on reverse grid pole alongside Narendran. He went into the lead with Narendran, Karthik and Parekh behind him. It was a thrilling battle for 6 laps with the top 4 being separated by 1.5 seconds. On lap 7 Narendran tried a move on Trivellore, sending both drivers wide. Karthik took the opportunity to pounce into the lead and pull away for another emphatic win. Behind him Narendran finished in 2nd place with Trivellore getting his first podium of the season after finishing Karthik Tharani Singh was jubilant after having his best ever racing weekend. He commented, “It feels just fantastic to top all sessions in a race weekend. This is the first time I have done this in my single seater career. A big thank you to MRF for giving me such a great car. I have improved a lot over the year and feel I was driving really well. It was a very strategic race and I am happy that it has worked in my favour.”

Karthik Tharani Singh has taken the lead in the Championship and sits on top with 80 points. Goutham parekh lies in 2nd place with 73 points with Arjun Narendran in 3rd place with 70 points.

MRF FF 1600 – Race 1

1. Karthik Tharani Singh

2. Goutham Parekh

3. Arjun Narendran

4. Siddharth Trivellore

5. Chetan Korada

 MRF FF 1600 – Race 2

1. Karthik Tharani Singh

2. Arjun Narendran

3. Siddharth Trivellore

4. Goutham Parekh

5. Tejas Ram

Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *