Volkswagen Polo R Cup reaches Colombo Night Races

Added in: News


Volkswagen Motorsport India will once again participate in the Colombo Night Races 2012 (CNR 2012) to be held in Sri Lanka. The 2nd edition of the Colombo Night Races will be held in Colombo Fort areas on December 14 and 15.

Six Polo R Cup India drivers will compete in this special race weekend along with four Sri Lankan drivers to complete the grid of 10 drivers.

Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 Pro Category Champion Sandeep Kumar, along with Munjal Savla, Saurav Bandyopadhay, Angad Singh Matharoo, Niranjan Todkari and 2012 JK Tyre National Karting Champion, Ameya Bafna would be the Indian drivers in Sri Lanka. The Volkswagen Polo Race will be a part of the race weekend which includes eight different categories of races.

The other races will see both cars and motorbikes line up in different categories on a 4 km circuit that is drawn out from the Colombo streets.The practice sessions along with a qualifying session will be held on Friday while the two races will take place on Saturday under the flood lights.

After yet another successful Volkswagen Polo R Cup season, Mr. Prithviraj Siddappa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India, was excited about returning to the streets of Colombo. He said, “After the success of last year’s Colombo Night Races, it is exciting for us to return to this mega event. We will be racing the Polo TDI race cars this year as well. This race signifies the popularity of Polo R Cup not only in India but beyond as well.”

The Polo R Cup India drivers participating in the race are:

Sandeep Kumar
Munjal Savla
Saurav Bandyopadhay
Angad Singh Matharoo
Niranjan Todkari
Ameya Bafna

The SriLankan drivers participating in the race are:

Rohitha Rajapakshe
Romani De Silva

Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *