Volkswagen – JK Tyre Polo Cup Round 5: Detailed report



You can track the race LIVE along with the classification here


Qualifiers : Parth Ghorpade on Pole for the first race of Round 5 at Chennai. Parth beats Vishnu to take the Pole Position / Round 5 to be flagged off on Sunday, November 28, 2010 at Irungattukottai Race Track, Chennai

Parth Ghorpade put in an impressive lap to claim the Pole Position for the 1st race of the 5th Round of Polo Cup India 2010, at the Irungattukottai Race Track, Chennai, covering the 3.717 km track with the best lap time of 2:03:135. Championship leader Sailesh Bolisetti will start from 5th position, with a difference of one-tenth of a second from Karthik Shankar.


Parth Ghorpade in his silver car, zooming away to pole position
Parth Ghorpade VW Polo Cup


Vishnu Prasad clinched the 2nd position with a time of 2:03:423 followed by Sahil Shelar with a lap time of 2:03:511. Mohd Fahad Kutty, who is placed third in the Championship, will start 11th in the first race tomorrow.

Speaking about winning Pole Position, Parth said, “It feels great to be on Pole. With only two rounds left in the season it’s now crunch time. Being the 1st on the grid will give me the advantage I need to fight for a place on the podium and earn the crucial championship points.”

Local boy, Vishnu Prasad was second on the grid just tenth of a second away from the leader. Currently 5th on the championship standings, Vishnu said, “Starting second on the grid will be crucial as it will better my chances of finishing on the podium and thus help me in moving up in the championship standings.”

The qualifying grid for Race 1 is as follows:

DriverBest Lap
Parth Ghorpade2:03:135
Vishnu Prasad2:03:423
Sahil Shelar2:03:511
Kartik Shankar2:03:587
Sailesh Bolisetti2:03:749
Dhruv Behl2:03:903
Anthony George2:04:130
Prateek Dalal2:04:366
Nikhil Kashyap2:04:394
Munjal Savla2:04:441
Mohd Fahad Kutty2:04:483
Vikash Anand2:04:623
Imran Majid2:05:081
Gurniaz Mann2:05:169
Oshan Kothadiya2:05:251
Shrivatsa Sinha2:06:253
Alisha Abdullah2:06:571
Suraj Bhagat2:06:803
Saurav Bandopadhyaya2:09:018
Nawaz Bhathena2:10:489
Sneha Sharma

*Guest Driver

** Nikhil Kashyap and Sneha Sharma have replaced Gokul Krishna and Ameya Bafna for the rest of the season

The highly successful Volkswagen-JK Tyre Polo Cup India is in its debut year in India. This will be the fifth and pen-ultimate round of the Championship with Sailesh leading the Championship, closely followed by Parth Ghorpade and Mohd Fahad Kutty.

The current driver standings after the first 4 rounds of Polo Cup India 2010 in are as below:

1Sailesh BolisettiChennai271
2Parth GhorpadeKolhapur251
3Mohd Fahad KuttyMumbai207
4Sahil ShelarPune194
5Vishnu PrasadChennai177
6Imran MajidMumbai155
7Vikash AnandChennai149
8Karthik ShankarHyderabad146
9Munjal SavlaMumbai139
10Gurniaz MannMumbai137
11Gokul KrishnaChennai136
12Alisha AbdullahChennai116
13Anthony GeorgeKochin111
14Oshan KothadiyaPune105
15Prateek DalalBahadurgarh68
16Saurav BandopadhyayaMumbai57
17Suraj BhagatAhmednagar42
18Ameya BafnaMumbai42
19Sneha SharmaMumbai16
20Shrivatsa SinhaPune12

The Polo Cup India will have six races in total. The final race of the Championship will take place on the race course in Chennai.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here