Toyota Yaris Gets A Price Hike; Select Variants De-listed

Added in: News

Toyota Kirloskar Motor (TKM) has silently removed three variants of the Yaris sedan from its website – the V manual, VX manual and V CVT automatic. Along with the removal of the selected variants, the Japanese automaker has also announced a price hike for the C-segment sedan.

Updated Line-up

With this line-up rejig, the sedan is now available in five manual and six automatic trims. Earlier, the company had 7 manual and 7 CVT automatic variants of the Yaris sedan on offer, however, with the subtraction of the aforementioned trims, the car now only has 5 manual trims – J (O), G (O), J, G, and V(O), and 6 automatic variants – J (O) CVT, G (O) CVT, J CVT, G CVT, V(O) CVT, and VX CVT.

Toyota Yaris Front quarter

As may be recalled, prices of the Yaris were also increased at the time of transitioning from BS4 to BS6. In June, Toyota Kirloskar Motor (TKM) revised pricing of its entire model list, and the Yaris sedan received a hike of around ₹10,000 to ₹12,000, throughout the variants, however, its J and G variants received a much higher hike of ₹1.68 lakh and ₹1.20 lakh, respectively. 

Updates Price

This time around, Yaris prices have been increased in the range of Rs 1,000 to Rs 1,68,000. The car is now priced in the range of ₹8.86 lakh and ₹14.30 lakh (all prices are ex-showroom, Delhi). Prices of V MT Opt and V CVT Opt variants have been hiked by just Rs 1,000. In comparison, J MT Opt and J CVT Opt are now costlier by Rs 10k. Customers buying G MT Opt and G CVT Opt will have to pay Rs 12k more than earlier. G MT and G CVT variants will now cost Rs 1.20 lakh more. Max price hike of Rs 1.68 lakh is applicable on J MT and J CVT variants.

Exterior Design

The Toyota Yaris gets an eye-catching look with a muscular front bonnet, large trapezoidal air vents, and projector headlamps with LED DRLs. On the sides, the sedan is flanked by blacked-out B-pillars, indicator-mounted ORVMs, chrome-covered door handles and updated alloy wheels. Moreover, it has a wheelbase of 2,550mm and a boot space of 476 litres.

Toyota Yaris India front red (3)


The sedan comes with a bunch of smart features like projector headlamps, LED DRLs, alloy wheels, dual-tone interiors and fabric (optional leather) upholstered seats. The safety feature list is equally abundant with seven 7 airbags (3 on Optional trims), ABS, EBD and Brake Assist, as well as solar energy-absorbing front windshield with infrared cut off. Also included in the safety list are features such as tyre pressure monitoring system, vehicle stability control (VSC), disc brakes on all four wheels, reverse parking camera, hill start assist control, auto headlamps, rain-sensing wipers, and cruise control.

Toyota Yaris 026

The Yaris also gets a roof-mounted air-vents with ambient illumination, 8-way adjustable power driver seat, a flat floor for the rear section, glass-high solar energy absorbing (HSEA) and tyre pressure monitoring system, and a 7-inch touchscreen infotainment system with gesture control.

Powertrain & Transmission

The Toyota Yaris is powered by a 1.5-litre 4 Cylinder, 16 Valve Dual VVT-i petrol engine which churns out 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm. This engine is coupled with either a 6-speed manual transmission or a 7-step Super CVT-i unit. The ARAI-rated fuel efficiency figure of the engine stands at 17.1 kmpl.

Toyota Yaris India 1.5 petrol engine (2)

Also READ: MG Hector Plus Details Revealed: All You Need To Know About The Three-Row SUV

The Toyota Yaris was first launched in India in May 2018, and later in 2019, the company introduced the ‘Optional’ trim for all the variants, which were essentially affordable variants with lesser safety features. The Yaris competes against rivals such as Honda City, Hyundai Verna and Maruti Ciaz. Recently, the company also announced the listing of Yaris on government e-marketplace for fleet operations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *