Toyota Etios Motor Racing Marks Its National Debut at the National Racing Championship

Added in: Motorsport

EMR Trophy winner with Mr. N.Raja, Senior Vice President, Marketing, Toyota Kirloskar Motor

The inaugural Toyota Etios Motor Racing (EMR) Trophy got off to an excellent start with Diljith winning race 1 & race 3 while Arjun Narendran won an action packed race 2. In all, there were four EMR races scheduled during the third leg of the National Racing Championship in Chennai last weekend of which race 4 was cancelled due to heavy rains and safety concerns associated with it.

Race 1 of the inaugural Toyota EMR Trophy saw EMR take to the National Racing Championship for the first time. Diljith, who had qualified on pole position on Friday led from start to finish to win the first race of the season. Behind him there was a great battle between youngster Akhil Rabindra, Abhinay Bikkani and Keith D’Souza who finished in that order with less than a second between them.

Race 2, one of the most action packed races of the day saw Arjun Narendran win his first race with Abhinay Bikkani coming in second place ahead of Varun Anekar. Race 1 winner Diljith was in 4th place challenging for third before having a collision with Akhil Rabindra.

Diljith also won Race 3 of the Toyota EMR Trophy ahead of Abhinay Bikkani and Akhil Rabindra. Diljith started on pole position and led from start to finish comfortably. The battle behind him was very close with four cars fighting for the remaining two podium spots. In the end Abhinay and Akhil managed to hold off the challenge from Keith D’Souza and Arjun Narendran to finish on the podium.

The 25 EMR drivers will battle it out again during the second round of the EMR Trophy at the 5th leg of the National Racing Championship to be held at the Buddh International Circuit in Noida this September. The best three EMR drivers of the trophy will also have the opportunity to race overseas at other Toyota racing events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *