Prashanth Tharani clinches the pole position for Race 1 of the second round of Polo R Cup

Added in: News

2.Prashanth Tharani in his Race Polo during the qualifying

Round 2 of JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup kicked off today with an exciting qualifying session in which the experienced drivers once again showed their upper hand over the rookie drivers. Prashanth Tharani from Chennai was the fastest driver on the track today.

Following him closely was South Africa’s Jeffrey Kruger. Rookie driver Samarth Jaiswal will start 3rd while Yatin Magu will join him on the 2nd row and start from 4th spot. The experienced drivers once again showed their skills over the rookie drivers as four out of top five are drivers from earlier Polo R Cup seasons. Even more interestingly, all four of them were able to set the fastest lap in their very first flying lap. Prashanth Tharani managed to secure the pole position by setting a lap time of 1:14.844, 0.255 seconds clear of Jeffrey Kruger who took the 2nd spot. The only rookie driver to make it with the top runners was Samarth Jaiswal who set went fastest on his 8th lap. He will start 3rd and it will be a challenge for the rookie to defend his position alongside the ace drivers. Total 19 drivers will start Race 1 on Sunday as Adnan Lehry had a crash and will not be able to make it to the grid due to a damaged car.

2.Siddharth Santosh in his Vento during the qualifying

Besides the Polo action, Volkswagen Motorsport, for the first time, has organised a Support Race tomorrow, in which Volkswagen Vento cars will be racing against each other. The Vento race drivers had 2 practice sessions on Friday before they made it to the qualifying today. Siddharth Santosh took the pole position for this race while Shrivatsa Sinha will start from second place.

The weekend has another unique race of sorts, featuring Radio Controlled Cars. The competition will include 3 heat sessions of 10 minutes each and a final race of 15 minutes. There are 16 professional RC cars’ controllers registered for participating in this race. The event has been organised by the veteran racer Mr. G.D. Rajkumar, an expert at radio controlled cars himself. The heats will be conducted throughout the day between racing events and the final race will be conducted during lunch time.

The qualifying grid for Race 1 of Round 2 of Polo R Cup:


Car No.

Driver Name (City)

Best Lap Time




Prashant Tharani (Chennai)




Jeffrey Kruger (Johannesburg)





Samarth Jaiswal (Mumbai)



410Yatin Magu (New Delhi)1:15.582+0.738
51Rahil Noorani (Mumbai)1:15.600+0.756
66Rahul Gupta (New Delhi)1:15.808+0.964
72Angad Singh Matharoo (Chandigarh)1:15.815+0.971
84Kartik Tharani (Chennai)1:15.823+0.979
923Rakesh Ramkunar (Chennai)1:16.227+1.383
1014Anshul Shah (Nagpur)1:16.284+1.440
1117Hanoosh Surapaneni (Hyderabad)1:16.568+1.724
1220Gaurav Mehta (Pune)1:16.683+1.839
1312Divijraj Thakran (Gurgaon)1:16.819+1.975
143M S Prince (New Delhi)1:16.828+1.984
155Gowdham Raj (Coimbatore)1:16.922+2.078
1611Shivjeet Malik (Gurgaon)1:16.944+2.100
1715Tanmay Ugale (Pune)1:16.999+2.155
1818Niranjan Todkari (Aurangabad)1:17.198+2.354
1916Venkatesh Shreyas(Coimbatore)1:18.789+3.945
2021Adnan Lehry (Chennai)

The qualifying grid for Volkswagen Vento special race:


Car No.

Driver Name (City)

Best Lap Time


17Siddharth Santosh1:22.675
26Shrivatsa Sinha1:22.841+0.166
33Karan Makhija1:24.270+1.595
42Sahil Gahuri1:25.008+2.333
55Ameet Ayare1:25.030+2.355
64Adithyan Ellan1:25.119+2.444
71Himanshu Kadyan1:26.739+4.064
88Jamshed patel1:27.028+4.353


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *