New Hyundai Verna Wins the ICOTY (Indian Car of the Year) 2018 Award

Added in: News

The new Hyundai Verna has won the ICOTY 2018, the 13th edition of the award. The award distribution ceremony was held at Taj Diplomatic Enclave in New Delhi, and was kickstarted by a rollicking performance from fusion rock band Indian Ocean. JK Tyre sponsored the gala as it has been, ever since the awards’ inception. Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman & Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries Limited, presented the awards.


Hyundai Verna had to compete with several other vehicles. The final list of the contenders of the awards is provided below.

  • Hyundai Verna
  • Isuzu MU-X
  • Honda WR-V
  • Jeep Compass
  • Maruti Suzuki Dzire
  • Maruti Suzuki Ignis
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • Tata Hexa
  • Tata Tigor
  • Tata Nexon
  • Volkswagen Passat
  • Volkswagen Tiguan
  • BMW 5 Series

Congratulating the winners, Dr. Singhania said, “As the proud associate of these awards since their inception in 2005, JK Tyre has always endeavoured to take these awards beyond mere plaudits to a true recognition of merit.

RepresentingHyundai Verna, the winner of ICOTY’18, Mr. Y K Koo, Managing Director & CEO, Hyundai Motor India Limited said, “ICOTY has always been a pioneer of the Indian auto awards and winning it is a special achievement. Our team has put in a lot of efforts in creating the best vehicle for our customers. It feels great that the jury have recognised our efforts and we would also like to thank our valuable customers who have loved our car over others. It is always a great feeling to have so many competitors, all of whom have brought out beautiful cars this year.”

The list of past winners of ICOTY is provided below

  • Maruti Suzuki Swift (2006)
  • Honda Civic (2007)
  • Hyundai i10 (2008)
  • Honda City (2009)
  • Tata Nano (2010)
  • Ford Figo (2011)
  • Maruti Suzuki Swift (2012)
  • Renault Duster (2013)
  • Hyundai i10 Grand (2014)
  • Hyundai Elite i20 (2015)
  • Hyundai Creta (2016)
  • Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza (2017)
Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *