Toyota Hilux Variants Explained


Toyota Hilux has become the second lifestyle vehicle offering in the Indian market. This icon has been in the global market since 1968 and its latest 2022 iteration has finally made it to India. The truck is big and it is bold and it gets some amazing features to keep it in power with the modern times. The Hilux is available in three variants; STD MT, High MT, and High AT. While all these trims offer a decent level of standard equipment there is still quite a difference between the three. Today, we are here to help you choose the variant best for you.

Mr Tadashi Asazuma – Vice President, Marketing, Toyota Kirloskar Motor with Toyota Hilux min

Standard and High: What’s the difference?

Halogen LightingLED Lighting
Machine Finish Alloy WheelsSuper Chrome Alloy Wheels
Matte Grille with Silver SurroundsPiano-Black Grille and Door Handles both get Chrome inserts
Manual Air ConditionerDual Zone Automatic Climate Control With 2Nr Row Vents
Fabric SeatsLeather Seats
Centre Console Box with LidCentre Console Box with Soft Armrest
Manual Adjust Driver SeatPower Adjust Driver Seat

toyota hilux india rear

Standard equipment

All models carry the same engine under the hood, but there is a big difference in torque output between the manual and the automatic gearboxes. The truck is powered by a 2.8L 4-Cylinder Turbo diesel engine which puts out 204PS of power and 420Nm of torque with a manual gearbox and 500Nm of torque with an automatic gearbox. All models are 4X4 and have the same dimensions as well. The truck has a payload capacity of 435Kg and a pulling power of 3.5 tons. Talking about gearboxes, the manual variants get 6-Speed iMT, while the automatic variant gets a 6-Speed Sequential Shift transmission with a Shift lock.

toyota hilux india interior

One more difference is that the STD MT variant comes with 17-inch tires, while the High MT and High AT variants come with 18-inch tires. Almost all safety equipment and interior features are the same in all models. All cars get Hill start-assist, Hill descent control, Auto limited-slip differential, Traction control, Rear parking camera, Cruise Control, and Electronic stability control. Features include; an 8-inch infotainment system with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, a 6-Speaker sound system, and driving modes; Eco & PWR Mode.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here