Round 2 of 10th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship to be held on July 13-14, 2013

Added in: Motorsport


After a thrilling Round 1 of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship, India’s leading karters are coming together for Round 2 of the country’s top event of its kind in Hyderabad, India’s karting capital. The young stars will be giving each other challenging moments at the JK Tyre-MMS Kartainment Track on July 13-14, 2013.

Packed with challenging corners and wonderful straights, the 840-meter track offers all the ingredients to provide high-octane action. The championship’s 45 drivers in three categories – Micro Max (7 to 12 years), Junior Max (13 to 16 years) and Senior Max (15 and above) – are sure to find it challenging to continue to put in impressive performances during the forthcoming weekend. The qualifying and the heat races will be held on Saturday, July 13, and the pre-finals and final races are scheduled to take place on Sunday, July 14, 2013.

Round 1 of the championship witnessed a host of thrilling moments. While Chittesh Mandody of Meco Racing with Mohite started the final Senior Max race from pole position and was leading for the first few laps, Nayan Chatterjee of Rayo Racing came up from behind to win, beating experienced Vishnu Prasad, Kolhapur’s Dhruv Mohite, and defending champion and teammate Ameya Bafna. In final standings, Nayan is standing strong with 87 points followed by Vishnu Prasad at 83 and Dhruv Mohite at 80 points.

In the Junior Max category, Bangalore’s Akash Gowda is leading championship standings with 83 points. Chennai based Tejasram of Meco Racing follows at 79, and behind him by 1 point is the talented Krishnaraj Mahadik of Kolhapur. The class is sure to witness some intense action in the rounds to come.

In the Micro Max category, defending champion Pradyumn V Danigond of Meco Racing with Mohite dominated the Final, Heat 1, and Qualifying races of Round 1. He started second and fought a strong battle with second-place finisher Yash Aradhya of Meco Racing throughout the contest. While Danigond is at 88 points, Aradhya is not far behind at 86. Third-place finisher and Bangalore boy Paul Francis of Meco Racing gave tough competition to the two racers and impressed onlookers with his driving skills. He is at 82 points in the table.

Even though the 2013 championship has just begun, it is going to be one of the most exciting championships in India. Each rounds yields exciting surprises, winners, and new young Indian talent. The Championship, spread over five rounds is being held at Karting tracks in Hyderabad, Coimbatore & Bangalore.

JK Tyre is credited with introducing the concept of karting in India and has patronized karting circuits across the country. JK Tyre together with MECO Motorsports introduced professional karting in 2004 with the introduction of the Rotax 2-stroke kart engines. It was then that the current championship came into being and is today the most revered karting contest in India. World class racing drivers such as Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim and Aditya Patel have graduated from this karting championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *