First Leg Of Suzuki Gixxer Cup Season 3 Concludes

First Leg Of Suzuki Gixxer Cup Season 3 Concludes. Read ahead for details, images and results of first leg of Suzuki Gixxer Cup Season 3.

Added in: Motorsport

Suzuki Motorcycle India has successfully concluded the first round of the third season of their hugely successful Suzuki Gixxer Cup. For the first time, the Gixxer Cup was contested as a part of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship, under affiliation from the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India. The participants of the ‘JK Tyre presents – Suzuki Gixxer Cup’ have been picked through selection rounds across the country in Bengaluru, Aizawl, Pune and Noida.

The first round was held between July 7 and 9 at the Kari Motor Speedway. There was a closely contested qualifying race to select the final riders of the two races in each of the categories- JK Tyre – Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup. From among these skilled young participants, a rider will be chosen to represent India at the Red Bull Rookie Cup – Road to MotoGP in Spain.

Both the races of The Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup races were won by Sri Lankan sensation Jaden Gunawardena. Mizoram duo of Lalhruaizela and Lalnunsanga secured the second and third place in the podium respectively.

India’s First 2017 Suzuki GSXR1000 Has Arrived; To Be Delivered By Dream Suzuki Palm Beach


Joseph Mathew continued his good run from his last Gixxer Cup by securing the highest podium in both the races of JK Tyre- Suzuki Gixxer Cup. The 2nd position of Race 1 was won by Sanjeev Mhatre. The 3rd spot was a close encounter between two Mizoram riders, Lalmawipuia and Malsawmdawngliana, with the former emerging victorious in the end.

Race 2 of the JK Tyre-Suzuki Gixxer Cup Race was a racing battle with 4 riders battling it out through the entire 10 laps. The positions were continuously changing right down to the finish line with Joseph Matthew finally clinching victory from Malsawmdawngliana and Lalmawipuia respectively within a gap of 0.7 seconds between the 3 riders.

The JK Tyre – Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup will return to the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore for Round 2 on the weekend, August 4 – 6. There will be 4 rounds of the Suzuki Gixxer Cup from July to November at the 2 iconic venues of Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore and at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida.


The detailed race results of the JK Tyre – Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup are as follows:

Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup Race 1

Laps: 8

  • 1st: Jaden Gunawardena 12:27:473
  • 2nd: Lalhruaizela 12:36:345
  • 3rd: Lalnunsanga 12:46:451
  • Best Lap: Jaden Gunawardena 1:26:012

Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup Race 2

Laps: 8

  • 1st: Jaden Gunawardena 11:47:188
  • 2nd: Varoon S 11:50:423
  • 3rd: Lalhruaizela 11:50:530
  • Best Lap: Jaden Gunawardena 1:25:775

Suzuki Gixxer Cup Race 1

Laps: 10

  • 1st: Joseph Matthew 16:12:706
  • 2nd: Sanjeev Mhatre 16:15:402
  • 3rd: Lalmawipuia 16:19:831
  • Best Lap: Joseph Matthew 1:24:597
  • Suzuki Gixxer Cup Race 2

Laps: 10

  • 1st: Joseph Matthew 14:27:607
  • 2nd: Malsawmdawngliana 14:27:856
  • 3rd: Lalmawipuia 14:28:355
  • Best Lap: Sachin Chaudhary 1:24:514

The 13 young racers who have qualified for the second edition of Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup:

S. No.NameCity / StateDate of Birth
1Prajwal VishwanathBangalore20-08-2004
2Naveen RajeshChennai06-05-2004
3LalnunsangaAizawl / Mizoram18-12-2002
4LalhruaizelaAizawl / Mizoram01-04-2002
5VanlalthlamuanaAizawl / Mizoram07-07-2001
6PC Andy LalhmangaihsangaAizawl / Mizoram18-11-2002
7V LalhlimpuiaAizawl / Mizoram01-06-2001
8Augustine LaltlankimaAizawl / Mizoram05-09-2002
9Neneiha LalneithluangaAizawl / Mizoram13-10-2001
10ZothanmawiaAizawl / Mizoram21-01-2002
11Varoon SChennai13-05-2003
12Eshaan ShankarDelhi13-01-2003
13Jaden GunawardenaSri Lanka09-04-2004
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *