Autocar India Awards- Ford EcoSport and KTM 390 Duke bag ‘Car of the Year 2013’ and ‘Bike of the Year 2013’ awards respectively

Added in: Ford

Mr. Vivek Law, Editor - Bloomberg TV India, Mr. Veerappa Moily, Mr. Gejendra Haldea, Mr. Amit Nandi - Vice President Bajaj Auto

Bloomberg TV India, together with Autocar India magazine, presented the ‘The Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013 – 14’ on December 20, 2013. The winners were felicitated at a awards ceremony in Mumbai in the presence of Hon’ble Union Cabinet Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas Dr. M. Veerappa Moily, Mr.Gajendra Haldea, Advisor to DCH (Infrastructure), Planning Commission. A total of 24 awards were given away across two and four wheeler segments. The Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013-14 was presented by Reliance General Insurance and powered by Mobile 1.

At the awards, in the four wheeler segment, the highly successful Ford EcoSport compact crossover made a bagged the ‘Car of the Year’ (Jury’s Choice) award, while Honda won the ‘Manufacturer of the Year’. In the two wheeler segment, the sensational new KTM 390 Duke won the ‘Bike of the Year’ (Jury’s Choice) award.

Click here to read our Ford EcoSport comprehensive review

Click here to read our KTM 390 Duke comprehensive review

Mr. Gajendra Haldea, Advisor to DCH (Infrastructure)

Ms. Amrit Rai, Business Head – Bloomberg TV India while speaking about the Awards said, “As the leading business news channel we give viewers a clear understanding of various industry sectors. Both Bloomberg TV India and Autocar India – a mighty combination come together to present the most credible automotive awards in India today. With a dedicated team tracking, analyzing, de-mystifying the automotive sector for the Indian viewer & a commitment to present facts. These awards are indeed a result of the team’s year long efforts to present and celebrate excellence.”

The jury panel that selected the winners from the top contenders in each category comprised of experts like Hormazd Sorabjee (Editor – Autocar India); Renuka Kirpalani (Editor – Autocar show); Shapur Kotwal (Deputy Editor – Autocar India & Editor – What Car? India); Narain Karthikeyan (India’s first Formula 1 Driver); Kartikeya Singhee (Consultant Editor – Autocar Show); Manvendra Singh (India’s leading Automotive Historian & Restorer); Rishad Cooper (Two Wheeler Editor – Autocar India);C S Santosh (Motocross Rider).

Mr. Hormazd Sorabjee, Editor – Autocar India, speaking at the award ceremony, said, “I am glad that over the last few years, the Autocar Awards have grown in stature, popularity and prominence. The Awards has always been a celebration of the best products of the year across the automobile industry. Today the Indian customer has the choice of the best cars, bikes and SUVs in the world equipped with advanced technology, which improves the performance, efficiency and safety of vehicles. It’s hard to find sub-standard vehicles these days and that makes the competition even tougher for us to judge. I am looking forward to some more exciting and award winning work next year.

L to R - Mr. Vivek Law, Mr. Veerappa Moily & Mr. Gajendra Haldea

Mr. Rakesh Jain, CEO of Reliance General Insurance speaking about the Awards, said, “Safety and protection is a part of the vision and everyday thought process at Reliance General Insurance. As a major player in India’s general insurance industry, particularly in the ever growing auto sector we understand the significance of motor safety. We are proud of our association with Bloomberg TV India Autocar India Awards 2013-14. The award’s theme ‘Innovation in safety and protection’ is the need of the day. As an insurer we are doing our bit to promote safety through product innovations and careful process management. Through this award platform we want to create safety awareness amongst the customers and the industry.

Mr. Daniel Tan, Chief Executive Officer, ExxonMobil Lubricants Private Limited, India speaking about the Awards, said, “It’s a pleasure for ExxonMobil to associate with the Bloomberg TV Autocar India Awards 2013. This award has set the benchmark in recognizing the most innovative, forward thinking and customer focused manufacturers in the Indian auto industry. These are values which we as a business share. Throughout the course of its 39-year history, Mobil 1 has been at the forefront of automotive lubrication innovation. Developed to meet or exceed industry standards, Mobil 1 is a world leader in the field of synthetic motor oil with an outstanding heritage to support both current products and new product development. We’re delighted to be supporting an award acknowledging the achievements of this vital and dynamic industry”.

Car of the Year - L to R Dr. Veerappa Moily, Mr. Gajendra Haldea, Mr. Joginder Singh, President & MD Ford India, Mr. Hormazd Sorabjee, Editor Autocar India

Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Anonymous says:


  • Kashif Farooqi says:

    I knew very well that Ecosport will be a winner among all 4-wheelers launched in 2013. Ecosport is an excellent compact SUV with modern design, extraordinary features, comfortable space and pleasurable drive, which means it is not only more than value for money but also best option available in the market at present in this segment, if company meet the customers demand on time. 🙂

  • Jeet Das says:

    Ecosport nailed it…. Proud to be Ecosport owner.:)

  • Heard a lot about ecosport, despite being a biker and not a Cager… Must be a deserving award definitely!

    Duke 390 was the right choice since Day 1…. KTM is really making some fast and funny bikes, nationally & internationally!
    Just visited the Bajaj Chakan plant recently…. saw the bikes being manufactured. Totally spellbound!

  • Ahh….the right choice .. Better than the stupid selectors of IMOTY.. ktm 390 is the champion of all means… 🙂