2010 Dakar Rally RESULTS

Added in: News

2010 Dakar Rally: The numbers involved

  • 184 is the no of participants registered in the motorcycle and quad category
  • 138 is the no of participants registered in the car category
  • 50 is the no of participants registered in the truck category
  • The rally covered an overall distance of 9,030 kilometres
  • The overall competitive stages of the rally comprised of around 4,810 kilometres
  • The longest competitive stage held on January 9th covered 600 kilometres
  • The shortest competitive stage held on January 4th covered 182 kilometres
  • The rally comprised of 14- day long stages that were scheduled from the 2nd of January till the 16th
  • The rally coverage reached out to an audience of around 2.2 billion people through media channels
  • At each stage one safety helicopter was tracking the competitors
  • Across the rally’s 14 stages there were 57 secure spectator zones for the public
  • To ensure public safety around 25,000 police officers were on duty
  • This year’s rally resulted in a cash inflow of around £50m from the organizers into the areas through which it ran

Overall Standings Car Category:

1Carlos SainzVW47h10m00s
2Nasser Al-AttiyahVW+ 2m12s
3Mark MilleVW+ 32m51s
4Stephane PeterhanselBMW+ 2h17m21s
5Guerlain ChicheritBMW+ 4h02m49s
6Carlos SousaMitsubishi+ 4h31m45s
7Giniel de VilliersVW+ 5h10m19s
8Robby GordonHummer+ 6h02m24s
9Orlando TerranovaMitsubishi+ 6h04m47s
10Guilherme SpinelliMitsubishi+ 6h13m41s

Overall Standings Bike Category:

2ULLEVALSETER (NOR)KTM52:13:29 01:02:52
4RODRIGUES (PRT)YAMAHA52:30:10 01:19:33
5FRETIGNE (FRA)YAMAHA53:06:33 01:55:56
6DUCLOS (FRA)KTM53:09:12 01:58:35
7STREET (USA)KTM54:00:20 02:49:43
8PRZYGONSKI (POL)KTM54:26:36 03:15:59
9PAIN (FRA)YAMAHA54:38:57 03:28:20
10PEDRERO GARCIA (ESP)KTM54:44:25 03:33:48

Carlos Sainz has won the 2010 Dakar rally in the overall car category driving for the Volkswagen team. His team-mate Nasser Nasser Al-Attiyah put up a strong fight but eventually had to settle for second place. The time gap between the two front runners dropped under 3 minutes during the final stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *