Vishnu Prasad shines on Day 1 of Round 2 of the 10th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship 2013

Added in: Motorsport

Karters race at Round 2 of the 10th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship at JK Tyre-MMS Kartainment Track in Hyderabad _2

Vishnu Prasad of Meco Racing showed superb racing skills at Round 2 of the 10th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship as he won both Heat 1 and Heat 2 at Senior Max category at the JK Tyre-MMS Kartainment Track in Hyderabad on Saturday. In Junior Max category, Abhirat Shetty and Mahaveer of Meco Racing won the Heat 1 and Heat 2 race respectively. In Micro Max category, Shahan Mohsin of Meco Racing and Pradyumn Danigund of Mohite won the Heat 1 and Heat 2 races respectively.

Packed with challenging corners and hairpins corners, the 840-metre track tested all the racers and provided high-octane action. Total 41 racers in three categories – Micro Max (7 to 12 years), Junior Max (13 to 16 years) and Senior Max (15 and above) –representing five teams in the Round 2. The points earned by racers in Heat 1 and Heat 2 will decide their positions in the pre-finals, which is scheduled to take place on Sunday, July 14, 2013.

In the Heat 2 – Senior Max category, Vishnu Prasad took lead from the first lap and since then, he didn’t allow other racers to come closer to him. He steered his kart till the end of the 15-lap race. But the real fight was for the second position, which was between Chittesh Mandody of Mohite and Round 1 winner Nayan Chatterjee of Rayo Racing. Nayan won the battle at the last moment after he managed to overtake Chittesh. On other hand, defending champion Ameya Bafna, who started at 13th position, displayed his outstanding racing skills to finish at respectable fourth position.

In the Junior Max, two bright racers of Meco Racing fought for the top position. Mahaveer started at pole position and led the race in the first few laps. But after that, his teammate Abhirath Shetty overplayed him and maintained his lead till the chequered flag. Aaroh Ravindra of Meyo Racing came from behind and overtook his front racers to finish at third spot.

In the Micro Max, defending national champion Pradyumn V Danigund of Meco Racing again proved that there is no one better than him in his category. He started his race from fifth position, but in the very first lap, he reached at the second spot. And from the second lap, he was leading the race and finished as a winner. He was thoroughly followed by his teammate Paul Francis, who finished at second position. Shahan Mohsin of the same team claimed third spot.

Earlier, in the Heat 1 – Senior Max category, Ameya Bafna of Rayo Racing was leading the race till 12th lap but in next lap, he faced a mechanical problem and his car broke down. He just managed to finish the race at 13th position. Vishnu Prasad of Meco Racing, who was chasing Ameya Bafna, claimed the first position. Chittesh Mondody of Mohite, who started at seventh place, pushed Nayan Chatterjee to third place to finish his race at second position.

In the Junior Max, Meco Racing team dominated the race as they claimed all the tree top positions. Mahaveer, who started at the pole position, maintained the lead to win the Heat 1. However, he received constant threat from his teammate and second-place finisher Abhirath Shetty. Akash Gowda, who started from fifth position, raced hard to overtake two front racers and finished at top three spots. Krishnaraj Mahadik of Mohite, who received ten-place grid penalty, managed to finish at 6th position.

Micro Max category’s Pradyumn Danigund of Mohite, who received ten place penalty for using unspecified battery, started the Heat 1 from back of the grid. But, in this race, he overtook all the front racers one by one in 10 laps and finished the race as a winner. Yash Aradhya of Meco Racing, who started the race at the third position, managed to overtook pole position holder Paul Francis of the same team.

However, Race stewards this time found technical infringements in top four karts and disqualified them. The stewards penalised all the four racers and made them to start Heat 2 race from back of the grid. The new winner of Heat 1 was debutant Sahishnu Bagamune of Meco Racng, followed by second place Amir Sayed of Rayo Racing and third place Rahil Kochhar of Dark Don Racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *