Ford Figo and Ford India sweep auto awards in 2010

Added in: Ford


Ford Figo has managed to bag the most no. of awards for any car in the year 2010. Apart from Figo, Ford India, by tripling its sales in the year 2010 has managed to be recognized as one of the most important and prominent carmakers in the country. Ford topped up the three ‘Car of the Year’ titles with the prestigious ‘Manufacturer of the Year’. The Figo also won the all-important ‘Indian Car of the Year 2011’ award. More than 60,000 Figos have been sold since March and Ford India recorded an impressive annual sales increase of 184 percent as compared to 2009.

The Figo has really come across as great package, bettering its rivals in cabin and boot space, ride and handling, all at an unbeatable price. The only department where the car doesn’t score too highly is fuel efficiency where almost all the rivals have better figures.

Michael Boneham, president and managing director, Ford India said, “We always believed that Figo would be our game changer but this car has performed beyond expectations. We appreciate that our customers had a wide choice in the market but they chose to buy the Figo. It is they who have immensely contributed for us to win these honours.”
Ford India and Figo won the following awards:

  1. All magazine Editor Jury – ‘ Indian Car of the Year 2011 ‘
  2. Bloomberg UTV-Autocar India – ‘Car of the Year 2010’
  3. Bloomberg UTV-Autocar India – ‘Value for Money Car 2011’
  4. Bloomberg UTV-Autocar India – ‘Premium Compact Car of the Year 2011’
  5. Bloomberg UTV-Autocar India – ‘Viewer’s Choice – Car of the Year 2011’
  6. Bloomberg UTV-Autocar India – ‘Ford India – Manufacturer of the year 2011’
  7. 2010 ET Zig Wheels ‘Car of the Year’
  8. 2010 ET Zig Wheels ‘Premium Hatchback of the Year’
  9. 2010 ET Now ‘Viewers Choice Award’
  10. BBC Top Gear – ‘Small Car of the Year’
  11. CNBC TV18-Overdrive – ‘Compact Car of the Year’
  12. CNBC TV18-Overdrive – ‘Viewers Choice Award’
  13. NDTV Car & Bike 2011 – ‘Small Car of the Year’
  14. NDTV Car & Bike 2011 – ‘Design of the Year’
  15. Business Standard Motoring – ‘Special Jury Award 2011’
  16. CAR India – ‘Readers’ Choice Car of the Year 2010′
  17. Motor Vikatan – ‘Best Car of the Year’
  18. Motor Vikatan – ‘Manufacturer of the Year’
  19. Motorbeam – ‘2010 Car of the Year’
  20. TeamBHP – ‘Car of the Year 2010’
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *