Karminder Pal Singh leads Polo R Cup 2014 championship post round 3

Added in: News

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014-Round 3 (1)

Karminder Pal Singh from New Delhi emerged as the most consistent performer and leader in the overall tally with 251 points post round 3 of Polo R Cup 2014. His closest competitor, Bonnie Thomas, holds the 2nd spot with 229 points, closely followed by Lee Keshav with 215 points. Angad Singh Matharoo (190 points) and Anindith Reddy (189 points) stake claim to 4th and 5th spot respectively.

In the first two rounds held at Coimbatore, it was Bonnie Thomas who clinched two victories out of the four races. The other two races belonged to Angad Singh Matharoo and Karthik Singh Tharani. Coming into round 3, it was Lee Keshav from New Delhi who walked away with two wins on day 1. However, a consistent Karminder Pal Singh has turned out to be the winner after the seventh race of the season – with not a single victory so far, yet at the top of the championship. The Delhi lad finished second in the last race. However, he clinched maximum points since race-winner Dylan Perreira, being an international guest driver, doesn’t qualify for scoring points.

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014-Round 3 (2)

The round 3 of Polo R Cup also brought along a few disappointing moments for some of the top drivers. Anshul Shah moved down to 6th place after being stripped of all the points in the last race of the round 3 for an incorrect move during racing. For Lee Keshav, it was a weekend with mixed feelings – winning two races back to back on day 1 and getting a DNF on day 2. Nonetheless, he moved up from 5th position in the championship to 3rd. The biggest disappointment though was for Chennai’s Karthik Singh Tharani, who despite having excellent pace through all sessions, couldn’t move up the order and stayed a 7th.

Commenting on the season so far, Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India said, “Motorsport is most exciting when you have close battles, tight fights and an ever-changing championship leader. The season so far has had it all. It is good to see that the championship is not going in any one particular direction, but is indeed being fought for by the top eight drivers who are placed within 50 points of each other.”

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014-Round 3 (3)

JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2014 – Championship Standing

Sr. No.NamePoints post
Round 2
Round 3 Race 1Round 3 Race 2Round 3 Race 3Total Points
1Karminder Pal Singh117344060251
2Bonnie Thomas131283040229
3Lee Keshav Gupta9560600215
4Angad Singh Matharoo98304814190
5Anandith Reddy Konda81403434189
6Anshul Shah11632320180
7Karthik Tharani7648648178
8Yatin Magu83222432161
9Utsav Shah70182230140
10Ishaan Dodhiwala7901828125
11MahatruMahadev Krishnamurthy7024260120
12Gaurav Anil Mehta31262826111
13Raaj Sivaram38202022100
14Rajeev Srivastava5216101694
16Amit Mete301281868
17Prabhanjan Paruchuri260122462
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *