Vettel wins first Indian F1 GP

Added in: News


Sebastian Vettel bags his 11th victory of the season at the Buddh International Circuit.

Team Red Bull driver’s latest win was devoid of much drama.Vettel appeared free to pull away clearly from the start itself.

But his team-mate Mark Webber saw an attack by Button’s McLaren and Alonso’s Ferrari at the very start. Vettel managed a good four to five second lead for most of the distance and led every lap of the Indian GP. This race saw one of his perfect performances with the fastest lap time of the race as well. Commendable we would say.

Button was quick to climb to second at the very first corner, as Alonso was seen uncomfortable under braking and ran wide, letting Webber keep the third position. The Australian driver was seen making a few bold moves on Button over the initial laps, before the McLaren managed to successfully dodge him and head off for a good second place.

Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa seemed to be in love with troubles as their affair with a tumultuous season continued with yet another collision between the two.They collided as Hamilton took the inside at Turn 5 – with the stewards deciding it was Massa who was at fault as he left insufficient room and rewarded the Brazilian with a drive-through penalty. Massa later had to call his race off as he totaled his car’s suspension on a kerb, very much similar to what he had managed in qualifying, while Hamilton recovered from ninth to seventh place after getting a new front wing for his car. Lewis finished behind the pack Mercedes cars led by Schumacher who in turn was shadowing Nico Rosberg until Schumacher overtook him for a fifth place. Mark Webber meanwhile, lost third place to Alonso at the final stops as being the first of the frontrunners to change to the hard compound Pirellis robbed him off his podium.

Toro Rosso looked all set to grab a few points until Sebastien Buemi had to unfortunately pull over with a cloud of smoke emerging from his car. Jaime Alguersuari finished eighth, ahead of Adrian Sutil in the leading Force India, and Sergio Perez.

First a slight kiss between the two Williams sent Rubens Barrichello into Kamui Kobayashi’s Sauber, which then rejoined in front of Timo Glock. Among quite a few other brushes around the initial lap, Jarno Trulli suffered a puncture after his Lotus was punted into a spin by a HRT car. Indian driver Narain Karthikeyan managed a 17th place ahead of the second HRT-Cosworth car and Trulli’s Lotus-Renault respectively.

One of the most memorable moments of the day was cricket maestro Sachin Tendulkar waving the chequered flag as Vettel zoomed past the finish line.

PROVISIONAL RACE RESULTS The Indian Grand Prix Noida, New Delhi, India; 60 laps; 308.220km; Weather: Dusty. Classified: Pos Driver Team Time

1.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault           1h30:35.002

2.  Button        McLaren-Mercedes           +     8.433

3.  Alonso        Ferrari                    +    24.301

4.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault           +    25.529

5.  Schumacher    Mercedes                   +  1:05.421

6.  Rosberg       Mercedes                   +  1:06.851

7.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           +  1:24.183

8.  Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     1 lap

9.  Sutil         Force India-Mercedes       +     1 lap

10.  Perez         Sauber-Ferrari             +     1 lap

11.  Petrov        Renault                    +     1 lap

12.  Senna         Renault                    +     1 lap

13.  Di Resta      Force India-Mercedes       +     1 lap

14.  Kovalainen    Lotus-Renault              +    2 laps

15.  Barrichello   Williams-Cosworth          +    2 laps

16.  D’Ambrosio    Virgin-Cosworth            +    2 laps

17.  Karthikeyan   HRT-Cosworth               +    3 laps

18.  Ricciardo     HRT-Cosworth               +    3 laps

19.  Trulli        Lotus-Renault              +    4 laps


Fastest lap: Vettel, 1:27.457


Not classified/retirements: Driver Team On lap

Massa         Ferrari                      33

Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari           25

Maldonado     Williams-Cosworth            13

Glock         Virgin-Cosworth              3

Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari               1


World Championship standings, round 17: Drivers: Constructors:

1.  Vettel       374        1.  Red Bull-Renault          595

2.  Button       240        2.  McLaren-Mercedes          442

3.  Alonso       227        3.  Ferrari                   325

4.  Webber       221        4.  Mercedes                  145

5.  Hamilton     202        5.  Renault                    72

6.  Massa         98        6.  Force India-Mercedes       51

7.  Rosberg       75        7.  Toro Rosso-Ferrari         41

8.  Schumacher    70        8.  Sauber-Ferrari             41

9.  Petrov        36        9.  Williams-Cosworth           5

10.  Heidfeld      34

11.  Sutil         30

12.  Kobayashi     27

13.  Alguersuari   26

14.  Di Resta      21

15.  Buemi         15

16.  Perez         14

17.  Barrichello    4

18.  Senna          2

19.  Maldonado     1


Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *