Toyota Talks About EMR Driver Selection

Added in: News

As selections were held across the country at different tracks, the following was put into place to achieve the intended result:

–          Tracks at all venues were redesigned by Red Rooster Racing to bring out driver skills

–          Benchmark lap time on each track was set for reference

–          Each participant drove eight laps

–          Each participant was rated on 10 by the evaluators

* Camp 1 Evaluators

All Cities


7-time Indian National Rally Champion

Formula-3 Champion 1992

Runner-up, Indian Touring Car Championship 2011

Karna Kadur

2004 JK Novice Racing Champion

Indian National Rally Champion 2009 – Rally Star Cup

Indian National Rally Champion Group N 2011

Pune & Delhi


Farad Bhathena

3-time Indian National Rally Champion

Chief organizer of MRF Racing Challenge 2008-‘10

President of Indian Rally Commission 2003-‘08

Amittrajit Ghosh

Presently a driver with Team MRF

Indian National Rally Champion 2007 (1400cc)

Drove in inaugural F1 Indian Grand Prix support race – (Formula Ford) and chosen for i1 Supercar Series


Nawaz Sandhu

Karandeep Singh Sandhu

MRF Racing Team 1990-‘94

MRF Rally Team 1997-2000

Winner of Sportscraft Summer Rally 1990

Indian National Rally Champion 2000 – Group N

Indian National Rally Champion 2006 – Super 1600

Runner-up INRC 2003


Camp 1 winners in brief (total = 70)

–          By selection venue:                   BLR = 30, Pune = 21, Delhi = 15, Kolkata = 4      

–          By residential address:     BLR = 15, Mumbai = 13, Delhi = 9, Chennai = 4, Others = 29

What to expect in Camp 2?

–          5 driver trainers – 1 dedicated trainer for each driver on track

–          3 sessions on track – more time on track for each driver

–          Lectures/ theory + analysis after each session – detailed and comprehensive training programme

Read More »
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *