#152 maverick1

maverick1

Motoroid

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:58 PM

arn, on 11 August 2011 - 07:16 PM, said:

Hi Arn. I am new to motoroids and  infact unware about  bike scene in India from past 5 years due to being Abroad, but i believe i have decent mechanical/ tech knowledge so am able to grasp details.  I am planning to buy a bike in 200cc-250 cc category and need your advice amd of fellow forum members

I have been reading this blog and others from past 5 months, reading ownership reviews, new bike rumours, test drives reviews, long term reviews etc.
Like many i can easily and honestly comment that your ownership review is honest and most clinical. You have been honest and detailed as someone can be :).

Regarding my Dilemma -

I had pulsar 180 Dtsi ( all black colour sceme) bought in 2005 which i sold during mid 2007 as it had to leave country from some years.
Now i basically drives a VW Vento TDi but miss my biking days hence want to buy one.

Why did i Bought Pulsar 180 dtsi- i loved the revving nature of the engine and good cornering ability ( apache was not lauched then ). I also quite liked the exhaust note and not to forget all black colour scheme.

My Driving style- I used to drive in and around Pune for going to trekking spots like Lohgarh, Rajmachi etc and to travel to Mumbai in rains for fun. While engine had grunt otherwise bit it used to gasp for breath on Ghat section as well as seats were not comfy for touring.

What do i need now in a bike -

(i) Should be exciting to ride, should have exciting to hear  exhaust note and should look good

(ii) good pickup and good cornering ability, should have smooth engine, should feel it will last through anything.

(iii) should be easy to sell and have good resale as i plan to change bike after 3 years or so

(iv) good build quality and hassle free service

I test rode DUKE and CBR 250r and went and saw Yamaha r 15 as no TD was available for it!